The Dolce Music Academy

The Dolce Music Academy has been established in the Helderberg area with a vision that will serve both the student and the teacher. ‘Dolce’ is a musical term meaning ‘sweetly’. We hope to be able to show our students the ‘sweetness’ of music while mastering the maestro within! Whether it be piano lessons, recorder lessons or voice training, we can help you offer your child the gift of musical education.

We welcome all students, from the novice to the more advanced. The academy is close to those living in the following areas:

  • Somerset West
  • Strand
  • Stellenbosch

Qualifications and Achievements:

  • Completed the Unisa piano exams (2001)
  • Performed as a soloist with the Hugo Lamprechts Youth Orchestra (2001)
  • Completed a B.Mus degree – University of Stellenbosch (2002 – 2004)
  • Completed an Honours degree in Education – University of Stellenbosch (2005)
  • Founder of the ‘Music and Movement’ programme currently running in pre-schools. (2004 – current)
  • Taught piano and recorder lessons privately (2004 – 2009)
  • Primary school teacher – Arts and Culture Grades 4 – 7 (2006 – 2009)

About Me

My musical tuition started at an early age and continued through to high school. During my high school years I participated in many piano and choir Eisteddfods; achieving a Cum Laude result for almost every item. I had the privilege of attending masterclasses with many of the world-class performers of today and in my matric year I performed as a soloist with the Hugo-Lamprechts Youth Orchestra.

After this, I pursued a future in the music world. I studied and completed my B.Mus at the University of Stellenbosch under the direction of Nina Schumann. I then completed my Honours degree in education.

While pursuing my degrees I taught numerous piano students. I also started my own business. It was called ‘Music and Movement’. It started as a small programme operating in a few pre-schools. This programme was aimed at developing the musical abilities needed in order to understand and truly enjoy music. Through game-like activities and movement, the children (aged 3 – 6) were introduced to musical concepts such as fast, slow, high, low, music interpretation and so on. This programme has been extended over the years and is now run in numerous pre-schools and playgroups throughout the Helderberg area. Its success speaks for itself.

When qualifying in 2005, I moved to Johannesburg, leaving the ‘Music and Movement’ business in the capable hands of Lynette Calver. There, I worked as a classroom teacher, teaching Arts and Culture to Grades 4 – 7 for four years. This has given me indispensable experience.

While teaching full time for a school, I also offered piano and recorder lessons to students. Watching them grow from strength to strength has been truly rewarding. This is the reason I teach.

To find out more or to enroll your child please feel free to contact Rachel on:

082 498 5452
or
info@dolcemusic.co.za

Rachi

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

